Barbershopper of the Year


The highest honour ever accorded to a member of the Northland Chorus is to be awarded the Barbershopper of the Year trophy, a work hand-crafted by now-deceased chorus member Ross Christie.  It is awarded annually in memory of the late Eugene Haines, a long time chapter member and chorus director.  It recognizes, in the words of 2015 BOTY Al Murray: 

" dedication to our chorus and craft, not just this past year but more importantly for all the years he has been with us. In other words, true dedication."  

The chorus nominates candidates for this award and the final selection is made by a committee comprised of the Chapter President and the past two BOTY recipients.  The criteria which guides their selection and the current nomination form are available at the links below.


The 2017 Barbershopper of the Year is: 




Director Bob Shami 2016 BOTY Al Carscadden  2017 BOTY Layne Hill President Folgo DellaVedova - Feb. 12 2018Layne Hill - 2017 Barbershopper of the Year, (2nd from right) receiving the BOTY trophy from Al Carscadden - 2016 Barbershopper of the Year, with Chorus Director Bob Shami (left) and Folgo DellaVedova, Chapter President (right), - Feb 12 2018


The text of the speech made by outgoing Barbershopper of the Year, Al Carscadden in announcing this year's recipient at the annual Valentine Social, is as follows:

"The Barbershopper of the Year is awarded to an individual for his dedication to our chorus and craft not just this year but more importantly for all the years he has been with us as a member.


"This individual has excellence attendance, he makes sure he knows his music and participates in all of the chorus sing-outs barring any emergency.


"He has volunteered to help our organization in other areas. He assisted in managing ticket sales for our shows and this past year was Show Ticket Chairman. He made sure every ticket and dollar was accounted for.  He has also served as Chapter President.


"He has been a member of our chorus for an amazing 41 years and has 5 “Man of Note” pins. He is a true asset to the Northland Chorus.


"It is my very distinct pleasure and honour to announce the recipient of the Barbershopper of the Year Award to:


Layne Hill


Barbershopper of the Year Award Winners - Revised 2018.pdf


BOTY Nomination Form-1 - Revised 2018.doc

Barbershopper of the Year Award - Criteria Guidelines.doc

Past Barbershopper of the Year Recipients:

1965       Art Bodley

1966       Ken MacPherson

1967       Don Bazely    

1968       Gordon Saxby

1969       Ed Briggs

1970       Ross Christie  

1971       Not Awarded

1972       Ed Cloutier

1973       Richard Metcalfe

1974       Joe Rogers

1975       John Greco

1976       Eugene Haines

1977       Gerry Clowes

1978       Al Binkley

1979       Wes Triplett

1980       John Tully

1981       Ernie Guzzo

1982       Doug Iles

1983       Barney Coulter

1984       Bob Cameron

1985       Don Bazely

1986       Bob Shami

1987       Al Carscadden

1988       Jim Duncan

1989       Capt. Cliff McLean

1990       Paul Stabile

1991       Barney Coulter

1992       Bob Martin

1993       Bob Shami

1994       Dan Rae

1995       Mike Luther

1996       Sean McMurray

1997       Loyal Beggs

1998       Bill Webb

1999       Doug Iles

2000       Ross Christie

2001       Bernie Arbic

2002       Al Toivonen

2003       Art Fink

2004       Jim Lake

2005       Bob Holley

2006       Peter McLarty

2007       Wes Triplett

2008       Folgo DellaVedova

2009       Jim Schmidt

2010       Don Myers

2011       Ted McKinney

2012       Don White

2013       Mickey Contini

2014       Kevin Collar

2015       Al Murray

2016       Al Carscadden

2017       Layne Hill




© 2019 Northland Barbershop Chorus
Connected Sound - Websites for the Barbershop Community